A burglary charge is a serious felony under California criminal law. It can be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the specific circumstances.
Burglary is defined as intending to commit theft or steal something from either a home or locked car. You can be accused of burglary even if there is no evidence of theft, but if you have unlawfully entered or broken into a car or home.
A First Degree Burglary offense in California is a felony charge. The penalties you face if convicted are up to 6 years in prison. For an offense to qualify as a first degree burglary, the prosecution has to prove that you broken into an inhabited home.
A Second Degree Burglary could be a felony or a misdemeanor charge. Penalties for second degree burglary are up to 1 year in jail. A 2nd degree burglary charge in California may result from a burglary of an automobile or a commercial property, depending on the exact circumstances.
Free Consultation on A California Burglary Charge
If you are accused of burglary in California, please contact our attorneys for a free criminal case evaluation. We can help you discuss your legal defense options, how good your case is, and what we can do to defend your rights in court.