Driving While License Suspended – Laws & Penalties in CA
There are many reasons your license may be suspended in the state of California. You may not even know that you have a suspended license until you are pulled over and arrested (or given a criminal citation).
And once your license is gone, you realize just how defendant you are on your driving privileges. So maybe you took a chance driving when you shouldn’t have been, and got busted.
We know how hard it is to survive without driving privileges. From getting to and from work and running errands to taking the kids to school, the modern adult depends on their car for many things. Being without a vehicle is not just a hardship – it can ruin your life!
But now you are up against it. You are facing a criminal charge, and an even longer license suspension.
How Do I Protect Myself From a Criminal Conviction, and Try to Keep My Freedom to Drive?
Those are the two areas we focus on in defending suspended license charges. Our California defense attorneys have fought hundreds of criminal traffic charges like driving on a suspended driver’s license. So we know what it takes to challenge the facts, and defend your rights.
- Our primary goal in court is to keep your record clean. Nobody wants a permanent criminal record, especially for something as trivial as this.
- We will look for every legal defense option to get you back on the road as quickly as possible.
The goal is simple. Get the criminal situation resolved, and hopefully get you out of there avoiding a permanent criminal record.
How we do this depends on many factors specific to your case. So give us a call and we can discuss it with you in our free case evaluation on any suspended license or related criminal charge.
We have handled many cases just like yours and know that we can have a positive impact on your outcome. Call for a consultation on your case today.
Your California License Can Be Under Suspension for Many Reasons
While it is your responsibility to be aware of your license status, extenuating circumstances can be critically important in court for your defense. We’ll pick the best reason to challenge you suspended license charge.
Some reasons your license may have been suspended include:
Regardless of why your license was suspended, you must adhere to the suspension in order to prevent criminal prosecution.
Ref: License Suspension Laws – California Vehicle Code Section 14601
Driving While License Suspended – Penalties
If you are caught driving while your driver’s license is suspended, the penalties depend on if you have a pror suspended license charge and conviction.
First Offense Driving on Suspended License: 5 days- 6 months in jail; and a fine of $300-$1,000.
Second Offense: 10 days- one year in jail and a fine ranging from $500 to $2,000.
If you are caught driving while under suspension and you are also under the influence of drugs or alcohol, your penalty could be much higher.
The term of suspension will likely be increased or you may lose your license altogether if you are convicted of driving on a suspended license.
Finally, the state of California can impound your vehicle for up to 30 days for a first time offense or seize it as a forfeit if this is a subsequent conviction.
Get Legal Help From a Top California Suspended License Defense Lawyer
With penalties like these you need experience and knowledge on your side. We will be sure that your rights are protected at all stages of the process and give you expert advice about your case.
Whether you just drove once to work, or maybe your child needed a ride home from school and there was no one to call. We know that things come up. We can help make sure your side of the story is heard in court. You don’t deserve harsh punishment for a minor mistake.
And if the mistake is not yours, and the California DMV screwed up your records, or failed to notify you, will will fight your driving while on a suspended license charge with everything we have.
Call to discuss the particulars of your case today. The consultation is free so call us now.