Robbery is a serious criminal charge, carrying serious penalties. When you are arrested for something like robbery, your entire life has the potential to change. Not only could you possibly go to prison, but you could be labeled a convicted felon indefinitely, making it more difficult to get a job and even find a place to life. Fortunately, you have options.
A robbery charge is not the same as a robbery conviction. There are protections in place to ensure that you receive fair treatment under the law, and a defense attorney may be able to help you minimize the potential repercussions of charge.
Robbery is defined under California law as the felonious taking of personal property in possession of another from his person or immediate presence and against his will, accomplished by force or fear.
If the other party is not present, you cannot be charged with robbery, though it may qualify as another theft offense. Similarly, there must be force used or you must put the alleged victim in fear of force, whether by threatening them verbally or pointing a weapon at them. Even if you threaten someone else and the alleged robbery victim is scared you will harm the other person, the act can constitute robbery.
It’s easy to see that California robbery laws are complex. A local criminal defense lawyer can help make sense of the charges against you.
California Robbery Laws & Penalties
The penalties you face for a robbery conviction depend entirely on the facts of your case. There are two classifications of robbery: first degree and second degree.
First Degree Robbery charges apply when the robbery is committed against the driver of a cab, bus, streetcar, or other modes of transportation, or if it is committed in a home. This offense carries a potential sentence of 3, 6, or 9 years in prison.
Second Degree Robbery charges apply to all other cases of robbery and a conviction carries up to 2, 3, or 5 years in prison.
Carjacking Laws & Penalties
Similar to robbery is the offense of carjacking. It is defined as the taking of a motor vehicle in possession of another from his or her person or immediate presence against his will and with the intent to permanently or temporarily deprive the person of the vehicle. Like robbery, carjacking must be accomplished by force or fear.
If convicted of carjacking, you could be sentenced to 3, 5, or 9 years in prison.
Both robbery and carjacking charges are pursued aggressively by California prosecutors. You need a defense lawyer that will use that same amount of aggressiveness in defending you. Contact our offices today to discuss your charges and what can be done to help.